NASCAR at Phoenix live race updates, results, highlights from the Instacart 500

The 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season continues Sunday afternoon with the Instacart 500 at Phoenix Raceway.

Brad Keselowski will start on the pole and look to secure his first win of the year. Kyle Larson, who won the Pennzoil 400 in Las Vegas last week, was set to begin the race on the front row but must drop to the rear because his car failed two prerace inspections Saturday. Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Denny Hamlin, Christopher Bell and Martin Truex Jr. will all start right behind Keselowski.

Heading into the Phoenix race, Hamlin leads all drivers in the points standings. He has three top-five finishes so far this season, but he is still searching for his first win.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and highlights from NASCAR’s race at Phoenix on Sunday. Follow below for complete results from the Instacart 500.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Phoenix live updates, highlights from Instacart 500

(All times Eastern)

6:50 p.m. — Martin Truex Jr. wins the Instacart 500 Logano, picking up his 28th career NASCAR Cup Series victory. The top five: Truex, Joey Logano, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski and Chase Elliott.

READ  Today's NBA best bets, odds, expert picks, player props: Warriors vs. Nuggets, more

6:35 p.m. — A late caution as Kyle Busch goes through the spin cycle. 

6:25 p.m. — Stage 2 winner Joey Logano slides past Brad Keselowski and is the leader with 38 laps remaining.

6:20 p.m. — Tyler Reddick slams into the wall. The caution flag is out.

6 p.m. — Martin Truex Jr. is the new leader after scooting past Joey Logano. Only 87 laps to go.

5:55 p.m. — Whoa, close call there for Joey Logano.

5:40 p.m. — Joey Logano takes Stage 2. Martin Truex Jr., Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski and Ryan Blaney round out the top five.

5:20 p.m. — Halfway through the Instacart 500, Joey Logano retakes the lead. Corey LaJoie is riding a few seconds behind Logano in second place.

4:50 p.m. — Another caution flag. Cody Ware gets into Anthony Alfredo, and now the No. 38 car is in bad shape.

4:30 p.m. — Ryan Blaney wins Stage 1 over Penske teammates Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski.

4:15 p.m. — A caution flag comes out. It appears Alex Bowman made contact with Ross Chastain and Austin Dillon before spinning into the wall.

4:05 p.m. — The top five as we hit the competition caution: Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Ryan Blaney, Christopher Bell and Joey Logano.

READ  Premier League top goal scorers 2021-2022: Updated golden boot rankings

3:50 p.m. — And we’re off. Denny Hamlin wastes no time in taking the lead from Brad Keselowski.

3:40 p.m. — Engines have been fired. The start of the Instacart 500 is coming soon.

3:20 p.m. — NASCAR, The Players Championship, Selection Sunday… yep, we’re going to need multiple screens.

2:55 p.m. — Chase Elliott and Quin Houff are heading to the rear of the field.

2:45 p.m. — Kevin Harvick certainly enjoys driving at Phoenix Raceway. Where will he finish Sunday?

NASCAR race start time today

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Phoenix Raceway, the Instacart 500, is scheduled to wave at 3:47 p.m. ET.

NASCAR starting lineup at Phoenix

Here is the complete starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR race at Phoenix Raceway, the Instacart 500:

Start pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
2 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
3 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
4 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
6 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
7 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
9 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
10 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
11 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
12 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
13 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
14 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
15 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
16 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
17 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
18 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
19 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
20 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
21 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
22 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
23 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
24 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
25 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
26 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
27 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
28 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
29 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports
30 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
31 Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing
32 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
33 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
34 JJ Yeley 53 Rick Ware Racing
35 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
37 Timmy Hill 66 MBM Motorsports
38 James Davison 15 Rick Ware Racing
READ  Why Memphis' Penny Hardaway laid into media with 'stop asking me stupid f***ing questions' rant