Daytona 500 lineup: Starting order, pole for 2022 race based on qualifying results

NASCAR will begin a new season — and a new era — on Sunday at the 2022 Daytona 500. The race will be the first full event for the new Next Gen cars.

The cars are designed to go slower — the top qualifying speed last week was the lowest at the track since 1967 and down by about 10 mph from the 2021 figure — and make driving talent more important.

MORE: Watch NASCAR racing live with fuboTV (free trial)

The change in speed won’t change the style of racing, however. It will still be nose to tail for 200 laps, as the 60-lap Duel races Thursday showed.

A look at who won the Daytona 500 pole in 2022 and the official starting lineup for the race:

Who won the Daytona 500 pole for 2022?

Reigning Cup Series champion Kyle Larson earned the pole position in single-car qualifying Wednesday night. The Hendrick Motorsports driver turned a 49.680-second lap (181.159 mph average speed) on Daytona’s 2.5-mile superspeedway oval.

READ  Nolan Arenado trade analysis: Cardinals add needed offense in deal with Rockies

His teammate Alex Bowman joined him on the front row thanks to a 49.711-second qualifying lap (181.046 mph). Bowman has made the front row for the Daytona 500 five consecutive years. He has two poles and three seconds.

Larson’s team chose the No. 1 pit stall location for the race.

MORE: Highlights from Duel races

Daytona 500 2022 starting lineup

Forty cars will roll onto the starting grid for the 64th edition of the Great American Race. The official starting positions were determined by pole qualifying and the Duel races. Joey Logano qualified in 20th position but will drop to the rear of the field for the green flag. His Team Penske team had to switch to a backup car after Logano wrecked the primary car in his Duel race.

READ  Chad Johnson net worth: How much did Ochocinco make in NFL career earnings?
Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1. Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
2. Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
3. Brad Keselowski 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
4. Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
5. Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
6. Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
7. Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
8. Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
9. Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
10. Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
11. Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
12. Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Erik Jones 43 Petty GMS Motorsports
14. Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
15. Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
16. Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
17. Kurt Busch 45 23XI Racing
18. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
19. Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse Racing
20. Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
21. Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
22. Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
23. William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
24. Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
25. Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
26. Ty Dillon 42 Petty GMS Motorsports
27. Landon Cassill 77 Spire Motorsports
28. Greg Biffle 44 NY Racing Team
29. Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
30. Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
31. Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
32. Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing
33. Daniel Hemric 16 Kaulig Racing
34. David Ragan 15 Rick Ware Racing
35. Kaz Grala 50 TMT Racing
36. Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
37. BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
38. Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
39. Noah Gragson 62 Beard Motorsports
40. Jacques Villenueve 27 Team Hezeberg
READ  J.T. Miller trade rumors: Should the Canucks move their star forward?